Money Money Money

Its hard work to make ends meet as an English teacher in Buenos Aires.  You can expect to teach between 18 and 25 hours a week, and for every hour of teaching, you can expect about 30 minutes of travel time and 30 minutes of preparation.  It’s a lot of work, and you’re only paid for a portion of it.  If you can find cheap rent you should be able to have enough left over at the end of the month for a few meals out.  I recommend not living in Palermo, where a high tourist population has raised the rent prices.  It’s easy to live cheaply in Buenos Aires…but it’s a lot more fun not too.  I strongly recommend bringing as much savings as you can, you might need it to live off of until you start getting a full time teaching schedule, which can take up to three months.

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Teaching English and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Money Money Money

  1. Kalynn says:

    Hi! I’ve really been enjoying your blog and all the good info. Question for you – are there neighborhoods you would recommend? I’ll be apartment searching in about a month, and could use some advice! Something affordable, but still in an interesting/accessible part of town. Thanks!

  2. Hey Kalynn, thanks for the comment! Yes, I can tell you all about good neighborhoods – but first tell me more about what youre looking for, price range, size, where you will be working etc. I think I’ll do a post on neighborhood profiles.

Leave a Reply

