Green Ricotta Tart with Zapallo

Green Ricotta Torte / Verde Ricotta Tarta

I don’t use recipes, but that won’t stop me from writing one.

I went to the fruit stand in search of zucchini, but since non GMO produce is seasonal, there weren’t any!  My friend at the fruit stand suggested I try zapallo instead and pointed me towards a box of green baby pumpkins.

“What are zapallos?”  I was certain I’d never consumed one before.

“It is similar to a zucchini” was her response.

two zapallos and some green onions

Well that was good enough for me!  I bought two zapallos and green onions and went home to embark on a creative adventure in my warm kitchen.  (Its winter here, remember)

I should warn you about this recipe: I do not measure ingredients.  Mostly because the measurements are different here, and cooking is an art, not a science, so a little more or a little less of something will get a slight variation of the same thing.  Fear not.  Maybe you want more veggies and less ricotta, or vice versa – so adjust according to your preferences

Ingredients:

chopped vegetables

2 prepared pie crusts or pastry sheets – unbaked (if you have the time, energy and ability to make your own, be my guest)

3 eggs

1 package of ricotta

2 zucchini (or zapallo!) shredded and squeezed of any moisture

3 green onions, diced

½ white onion, diced

frozen or fresh spinach – squeezed of any moisture

salt and pepper to season

optional: mushrooms, green peppers, kale, sundried tomatoes, any leftover veggies you have in the fridge.

Directions

First prepare the pie crust in a pastry dish.  Grease the pan with a little olive oil and put the one crust in the dish and bake for a few minutes at 350 degrees, until light brown, but not fully cooked.  This helps prevent against a soggy pie bottom – very important.

Then prepare your veggies.  Use a cheese shredder for the zucchini or zapallo, and then squeeze out any moisture using a paper towel over the sink.  Dice your onions.

Combine all vegetables, two eggs, ricotta, salt and pepper in a mixing bowl and mix throughly.

Empty ingredients into the hollow pie crust and cover with remaining pie crust, sealing the edges.

Brush the surface of the pie with an egg white and puncture the surface to help steam escape while in the oven.

Place in the oven and cook for 30min, or until the pie crust is golden brown and your kitchen smells so good that you don’t want to wait anymore.

perfection!

Bon Appetit!

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Comida y la Vida and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Green Ricotta Tart with Zapallo

  1. Mom says:

    I ask again – HOW did you know how to make this???

Leave a Reply

