Bio – Vegetarian Friendly Dining in BA

Simultaneously exotic, yet familiar of the foods I once ate – Bio is one of the few organic and vegetarian restaurants in Buenos Aires.

I took Blair here for her first night in town.  Blair has been vegetarian for the last year, so I thought it would be better to ease in slowly to true Argentine cuisine.  Bio was a good place to start.

We shared a mini bottle of this organic Malbec from Mendoza.  We were going to Mendoza the following weekend, so why not do a little ‘research’ beforehand.  It wasn’t the best Malbec, but a nice accompaniment to our dinner.

We enjoyed the warm fresh baked bread on the tables, and the yellow curry sauce that accompanied it.

For a starter we shared a mushroom cheese ‘bruschetta’, with surprised me by its unconventional approach of thick lightly toasted wheat bread, savory sautéed mushrooms and melted cheese.

For the main course I ordered a vegetable quinoa, which came with a butter lettuce salad and a big chunk of gooey melty brie cheese, which was of course, why I ordered it.  I was not dissapointed.

Blair had a whole wheat pasta with tomatoes, olives and goat cheese.  Not much of a sauce, but very filling.

We were too full for dessert, so we headed home.  Bio is a truly unique dining experience in Buenos Aires, with its many vegetarian and organic dishes, and a very satisfying one at that!

Bio

Humboldt 2199

4774-3880

Monday to Sunday from 9 to 01 hs.

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Comida y la Vida and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bio – Vegetarian Friendly Dining in BA

  1. Gaby says:

    I love Bio! I’m vegan and my friends and family were convinced I would starve the whole time I was there, but it’s actually not hard to do at all in BA. There are so many good vegetarian restaurants, but even the parrillas have amazing parrilladas de vegetales, the pastas are usually stellar and authentically italian, and even pizzas can be made without cheese, which in my opinion just lets the doughy goodness shine through 🙂
    You should take her to Saatva, it’s similar but a little less heavy.
    Enjoy Mendoza!

Leave a Reply

