CBC: Where This Expat Goes When She Is Hungry for TexMex

When people ask me what I miss most about the USA (friends and family aside) my answer is quick and decisive.  MEXICAN FOOD.  Isn’t that a little ironic?  Well I don’t know…I never really understood irony.

I would just love to make a post dedicated to my love of Mexican cuisine and all its spicy goodness.  If I had my way I’d take tortillas over bread any day.  Ideally I’d love to eat enchiladas or tacos or burritos or just simple rice and beans far more often than I do. And I would cover it all in spicy, spicy SALSA!

I did make chicken enchiladas recently.  I made enchilada sauce from scratch.  It was good.  Some might say: ‘it was The Bomb.com’.  Check them out.

Luckily for me, when I really get a craving, I have a burrito dealer here in BA.  The place is called California Burrito Co, and it’s as close to a ‘Chipotle‘ to be found in this hemisphere.  It’s not exactly Mexican food … Mexican food is way too hard core spicy for your typical Argentinian’s tastes.  This is TexMex.  (as in Texas Mexican?) What more could a girl want?

CBC hosts a ‘Subway style’ build your own burrito station, where you can choose from different meats, beans, veggies and sauces to customize your dream burrito.  You can also order tacos or quesadillas.  For me its burritos or bust.

I like CBC’s surfer/Cinco de Mayo decorating scheme.  Because personally, nothing makes me want to get on a surfboard more than the indigestion that comes after scarfing down a ginormous burrito.

CBC doesn’t quite have the perfect burrito perfection down pat.  My tortillas always fall apart and leak salsa out the bottom, and usually I have to lay down and unbutton my pants after I inhale one, but I don’t care.  I’ll continue my loyal patronage.

Plus the rumor is that CBC is a company started by some young Americans who came down to BA with nothing more than entrepreneurial spirits and a love for burritos.  They foraged into ever complicated Argentine work permits etc to provide the city of Buenos Aires with the Mexican food it deserves!  The rest goes down with Pancho Villa in happy texmex history.

Oh, and the best part?  They have burrito stamping cards!  Once you buy 10 you get one free!  I’m still working on that…

California Burrito Co

8 Argentina Locations

5290 0940

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Comida y la Vida and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CBC: Where This Expat Goes When She Is Hungry for TexMex

  1. Hi Vina,
    When you return to your roots, we will go out for some real Mexican food. You out to make a chicken tortilla casserole. Add a few jalapeño’s.
    Love,
    Grandpa

  2. Penny says:

    “….my loyal customer-ship. (I’m sure there is a better word for that, but I’m forgetting English.)” The word you’re looking for is ‘patronage’.

    Congrats on finding a TexMex supplier! 😉

  3. Mom says:

    You have a burrito “dealer”??! – Love it!
    Do you think this great love originated with the nearly nightly quesadilla you grew up with?!

  4. Alexa says:

    Everyone I live with LOVES CBC! We have to make a burrito run at least once per week. As long as you keep the burrito wrapped in the foil as long as you can, it’s usually only a disaster at the very end.
    Great post! I feel your lack-of-real-Mexican-food pain.

    Alexa (one of the it’s about argen-time! girls)

  5. Holly says:

    And on Thursday’s margaritas are half off and Tuesday’s free for girls – at least in the day time.

Leave a Reply

