Campo Day in San Antonio Del Areco

Some days are unforgettable.  Dre and I had one of those days.  We were fortunate enough to be invited for a visit to the country by some friends.  We drove out of the city, to nearby country town San Antonio del Areco.

We started the day sampling artisan alfajores over coffee in a local chocolate factory.

We stopped by a local landmark – an old authentic gaucho bar – complete with gauchos!

Then we headed to a nearby polo club, for an asado!  We relaxed while meat cooked over an open fire pit.

While the meat was cooking, Dre tried her first Fernet con coca!

Then the chori pan was ready!  Yum.


After our leisurely lunch in the grass we suited up to go for a ride.  Our hosts were nice enough to lend us full polo garb, to really feel in the spirit.  We wore their game day polos, helmets and chaps.  Of course it wouldn’t be complete without the side pony.

Then we mounted up and went for a lovely walk across the campo.

After an hour or so we headed back to the stables, where we played with puppies and polo players.

I’ll just include another picture of this, in case you don’t already hate me.

The polo game was scheduled for 4pm, so we heated up some water for mate and headed over to watch the game.  While they played, we drank mate and posed for pics.

The sun set and our day in the country ended.  But it was a perfect day and I will never forget it.

Thanks Santi, you’re top 5!  Miss you and love you Dre!

I should also mention that if you’re interested in a travel experience such as this when you visit Buenos Aires – look no further than Waysouth.

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Campo Day in San Antonio Del Areco

  1. Rathbone says:

    “I’ll just include another picture of this, in case you don’t already hate me.”

  2. Vina, next time you go to San Antonio take a crescent wrench and nab one of those cast iron seats and send it to me. I will pay you and be grateful.
    Love,
    Grandpa

  3. Pingback: The Dream Itinerary | .My.Beautiful.Air.

  4. Laura says:

    Day at the country? Or Day in the country? I think you need to come back to the US for a few weeks. You’re forgetting English 🙂

  5. Fabulous photos. It all looks so lovely.

Leave a Reply

