Blueberries on Sale

Palermo Soho at lunch time.  I’m at the verduleria and I spy blueberries.  They are 12 pesos per carton.  I get a pear instead.

A different side of Palermo, several hours later.  I’m at the verduleria again.  Yes, I go multiple times a day.  Again I spy blueberries.  They are 12 pesos for 3 cartons.  I go crazy.  Almost as crazy as inconsistency of prices in this city.

I arrive home with several cartons of blueberries.  This is the first time in my life that I have more blueberries than I know what to do with.  I have no choice but to get down to business and make some muffins.

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1/2 cup of orange juice
  • 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon of blueberry jam, should you happen to have it
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 sprinkle of salt
  • 1 cup of blueberries (or two cartons)
  • cinnamon
  • (If you want nicer muffins than mine add baker’s yeast)
  • Any other random stuff you’ve got lying around.  Nuts, chocolate chips, coconut flakes, a banana, check here for inspiration.

Directions:

  • Combine the oats and the orange juice and mix.
  • Combine all dry ingredients, in a separate bowl.
  • Add the wet ingredients. Get mixy with it.
  • Stir in the berries.
  • In a muffin tin lined with those cute little paper cups (What are those called?) drop a heaping tablespoon of muffin mix.
  • Bake at 200 ° Celsius for 17 minutes.

Recipe makes 15 muffins and friends and coworkers very happy.

I’m becoming increasingly interested in photography and discovering that I prefer still lifes to portraits.  Hardly Rococo, but I attempted a still life of a portrait.  Any photo tips for me?  I’d like to convert my photographic aspirations into skills.

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Comida y la Vida, My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blueberries on Sale

  1. Cristina says:

    Oh I am laughing out loud!! Your pictures are beautiful but your writing is the best!!

  2. forkyou says:

    Where did you find blueberries at 12 pesos for 3 cartons??? SPILL IT!

    • You must haggle at verdulerias! First make friends with them, then tell them that ‘the verduleria by your house/office (obvi have close relationships with both) is selling (insert vegetable) at (insert price). It’s been working pretty well!!!

  3. Rathbone says:

    “Get mixy with it.”

    Oh Vv… Can’t wait till you’re home and we can get mixy with it in mom’s big kitchen.

Leave a Reply

