Feria de las Pulgas

If you don’t stalk my Facebook Page (you should) then you probably wouldn’t know that I just moved.  When I arrived in Argentina I was quite mobile with my solitary suitcase and my jansport, but during my fifth round of BA apartment swap, I had to hire a mover.  Somehow I’ve acquired a couch and picture frames, shoes and books, bedding and lamps.  This is no small feat considering one fundamental truth of Buenos Aires:

There is no Ikea.

So there is no affordable, stylish, build-it-yourself furniture.  Instead furnishing are expensive, difficult to acquire, and those of us who highly value aesthetics and quality find the affordable pieces are not worth possessing.  Second hand furniture is hard to come by because almost no one employs Craigslist ‘for sale’ section.  To make matters even worse, the gorgeous antiques that tease me in San Telmo shops that I much prefer to any museum are completely unaffordable.  Sometimes they don’t even let me in the store.

So where do you go for furniture in Buenos Aires?  The fleamarket in Palermo Hollywood!  It is still expensive, but filled with treasures and unique finds.  Maria, Lauren and I checked it out last Saturday.  The market is housed in an enormous warehouse, filled with vendors selling furniture, antiques and art.

Mercado de Las Pulgas

Niceto Vega y Dorrego

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Buenos Aires Business, Things To Do, Tourism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feria de las Pulgas

  1. Allison says:

    Hi MyBeautifulAir. I am in the process of filling up a PH where I will eventually rent out the rooms. Although we have found some good deals on Craigslist, it is true that there is not enough furniture traffic on the site. We have enjoyed going around to the weekend “feria americanas” that you can find on lanacion.com if you search “feria americana.” We have found some great stuff at those, too. I have always wanted to go to mercado de las pulgas. Thanks for reminding me once more. Curious…were any of those mirrors even slightly affordable? If you asked and got any prices I would really appreciate knowing!

  2. Kara says:

    THANK YOU for this post! I’ve only been here for three months and am still in the thick of furnishing my place, and, oh, how I ache for IKEA and secondhand stores. Dedicated thrifters can brave it to the Cottolengo/Salvation Army in Pompeya. Here’s some info (ignore the minor man-magazine flavor). http://www.conexionbrando.com/1390581-buenos-aires-vintage-donde-comprar-cosas-usadas

  3. besuquear says:

    This is soo good to know, I have been worrying about the very same problem lately in preparation for my move — how will I EVER have a beautiful and unique apartment that I can afford??????

Leave a Reply

