Perfected Peach Pie – a Tribute to Smitten Kitchen

Have you heard of Smitten Kitchen?  If you haven’t, you should check it out.  It is the most glorious food blog in all the internet.  I’m sure you’ll be charmed by this prolific, witty blogger and her delectable recipes.  She cooks/blogs about a plethora of dishes, but I can only be bothered to read her dessert recipes.  What, is that weird?  Are you telling me you don’t spend your free time reading cake recipes on food blogs?

I had made a peach pie previously using a store bought whole wheat crust.  It was good, but now that I have this fancy new apartment with a real kitchen, I’m ready to step up my game and compete in the big league – aka get serious about making the perfect pie.  In case you were wondering, the name of my lipstick color is ‘AMBITION’.  I found it to be fitting.

Anyway, I took S.K.’s lesson in Pie Crust making 101, 102 and 103, and learned that pie crust is nothing if not temperamental and furthermore, if you know how much butter goes into a pie crust, then you should know better than to eat it.  The problem is, S.K.’s recipe is so divinely flaky, melt in your mouth perfection, that you’re going to do it anyway.

I’m not going to repeat her recipe, because you can find it here, and my high school English teacher taught me that plagiarism is wrong.

I will however share my photos and this quote by Picasso, as paraphrased by Steve Jobs: ‘Good artists copy.  Great artists steal.’  The same applies for computer geeks and aspiring, self-taught chefs.  Check me out Smitten Kitchen:

Crust ingredients: butter, flour, and a whole bunch more butter.

Filling ingredients: sliced fresh peaches, a spoonful of honey, a pinch of flour, a few dots of butter, an hour in the oven.

Assembly required.

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Comida y la Vida, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfected Peach Pie – a Tribute to Smitten Kitchen

  1. meg says:

    Have you landed in Seattle to stay???

Leave a Reply

