Charlie’s Rummy B.A.-nanas Foster

I’m struggling to find the words that could dignify this dessert.  Alas, they are beyond me.

Rummy B.A.-nanas Foster

A recipe by Charles Lucking.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 cups rum
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 6 bananas, peeled and sliced diagonally into 1″ chunks (or smaller if you like)
  • 1 kilo ice cream (I like something vanilla-ish based, but Dulce de Leche would be pretty great too)
  • 1 jar of good quality dulce de leche (La Salamandra is my go-to)

Directions

In a large, deep skillet over medium heat, melt butter. Stir in sugar, rum, vanilla and cinnamon. Allow the mixture to bubble for 8-10 minutes, place bananas in pan. Cook until bananas are melted on the outside but still firm , 3-4 minutes. Serve at once over ice cream, with a dollop of dulce de leche on top.

Note from Veevs – this was hands down the best dessert I’ve ever had in my life.  That’s not an exaggeration.  And I’ve had a lot of dessert.

About MyBeautifulAir

Wherever I go, there I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Charlie’s Rummy B.A.-nanas Foster

  1. Skye Lucking says:

    I’m jealous for so many reasons. I need to have a coffee with you so I can get the what’s what on this unrequited reincarnate love. Also, I need to get Charlie to make this for *ME*.

  2. Vamanos a Nuevo Orleans!! It was invented there.

  3. Pingback: My Boozy Bananas Foster – Featured on the “My Beautiful Air” Blog! » Charles Lucking

  4. Wow that looks amazing! I can honestly say I’ve never had bananas foster, but I definitely want it now 🙂

  5. Pingback: Skye Lucking and the Seuss/Escher Lovechild Debut! | .My.Beautiful.Air.

Leave a comment